• Moore played wide receiver for the Baylor Bears.  Moore captained the 1960 Gator Bowl team that ended the year as the nation's eleventh-ranked squad.

  • Moore began his coaching career at Corsicana High School under Texas high school coach Jim Acree. In 1965, he became an assistant coach at SMU. After the 1972 season, he joined the Nebraska Cornhuskers as receivers coach, becoming offensive coordinator under coach Tom Osborne in 1978.

  • In 1979, at North Texas State (now North Texas), Moore got his first head coaching job. After two seasons he left North Texas for Texas Tech, where he spent five seasons and garnered a record of 16–37–2.

  • After three years away from football, Moore joined the coaching staff at Arkansas where he remained for two seasons before taking the head coaching position at Appalachian State in 1989.

  • During his tenure of twenty-four years as head coach at Appalachian State, Moore led the Mountaineers to ten Southern Conference championships and three consecutive NCAA Division 1-AA national championships (2005, 2006, and 2007). The 215 ASU victories under his leadership is a school record.

  • On September 1, 2007, Moore led Appalachian State to score one of the biggest upsets in college football history, defeating the then fifth-ranked Michigan Wolverines 34–32 at Michigan Stadium. This marked the first time a team in a lower subdivision defeated a ranked team in a higher subdivision. It was also the first game and loss for Michigan against a Division I FCS team.

  • Moore became the 28th head coach in Division I history to reach 200 wins after the Mountaineers defeated the Furman Paladins on October 25, 2008.

  • Head football coach at Appalachian State University - 1989 to 2012, compiling a career college football coaching record of 242–134–2.

  • In his 24 years at Appalachian State, Moore posted a losing season only once. He led his 2005 Mountaineers team to the NCAA Division I-AA Football Championship. This was the first national championship for any college football team in the state of North Carolina. Moore and the Mountaineers repeated as champions in 2006 and 2007, achieving the first "three-peat" in NCAA Division I FCS/I-AA history.

  • He was selected for inclusion into the Southern Conference Hall of Fame, and College Football Hall of Fame in 2014.